Buy Online Melanie C - Northern Star

Melanie C

Northern Star

CD £9.99

Release Date: 31/05/2004

Discs: 1

This version of NORTHERN STAR replaces the previous version and contains two bonus tracks.
Personnel includes: Melanie C, Bryan Adams (vocals); Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes (rap vocals).
Producers: Rick Rubin, William Orbit, Craig Armstrong, Marius DeVries, Rick Nowels.
Engineers: Gary Thomas, Randall Wine, Chris Fogel.
U.K. rerelease contains two bonus cuts--"Never Be The Same Again" (Feat. Lisa Lopes) (Radio Version) and "I Turn To You" (Hex Hector Mix) (Radio Version).
The debut solo effort from Melanie C proves that the musical sensibilities of the woman otherwise known as Sporty Spice are informed by far more than just bublegum pop. The majority of these songs are about forced maturation, leaving loved ones behind, and facing up to the realities of a world colored by tragedy, heartache, and emotional pain.
William Orbit adds his deft production touch to the album-opening "Go," creating an electronic soundscape at once insurgent and ethereal. Electronics also tinge the fiery "Goin' Down," on which the song's principal character, stung by betrayal, declares "From this little hitch/I have become a superbitch." "If That Were Me" is an affecting composition on which the singer addresses the plight of the homeless. Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes of TLC fame makes a guest appearance on the catchy "Never Be the Same Again." Even Rick Rubin takes a turn in the production booth for the Beatles-esque romp "Suddenly Monday." Perhaps the album's most inviting track is the bittersweet ballad "Be the One," on which Mel floats through the upper register with grace and ease.

Disc 1
1. Go
2. Northern Star
3. Goin' Down
4. I Turn To You
5. If That Were Me
6. Never Be The Same Again - Melanie C & Lisa 'Left Eye' Lopes
7. Why
8. Suddenly Monday
9. Ga Ga
10. Be The One
11. Closer
12. Feel The Sun
13. Never Be The Same Again (single edit) - Melanie C & Lisa 'Left Eye' Lopes
14. I Turn To You (Hex Hector radio mix)